MacClugage and Aswar Light up Ft Lauderdale P1 AquaX Races with 1-3 Finish in Tour Championship Finals

Yamaha racers entered the weekend’s races in Fort Lauderdale with a substantial points lead and were looking to close it out in the final round of the P1 AquaX Pro Series Championship, and that’s exactly what they did.

Chris MacClugage, aboard his Dean’s Team Yamaha FZR WaveRunner, won the final round and gained enough points to win the overall Pro Series Championship, right on the heels of winning last month’s IJSBA World Championship title in Pro Runabout Stock. This marks the second year in a row that Dean’s Team Yamaha riders have taken the top spot in the Pro Series of P1 AquaX racing.

Fellow Yamaha rider Aero Aswar finished 3rd overall for the Pro Series Championship and is now the #1 World Ranked Racer for P1 AquaX.

Yamaha racers dominated the results across the board, taking a full 11 of the top 15 positions for the Pro tour overall. In addition, Yamaha VXR racer Jennifer Nolan won the P1 AquaX Amateur 200 Championship.

Overall for the year, riders on the Yamaha FZR and FX SVHO won the top national and world championships in the premiere Pro runabout classes, setting the stage for an exciting year of racing in 2017 that sees the introduction of the brand new, SVHO powered, Yamaha GP1800 on the race course for the first time.